The Story of Fafleralp

Autor: Walter Henzen, Blatten, 2013

The famous Lötschental masks called Tschäggättä (Tschäggätta in the singular), are to be seen between the 2nd February (Catholic festival of Candlemas) and Ash Wednesday. For those who respect the old tradition, they should not be seen before midday (12 noon) nor after nightfall (19h).

Until the 2nd World War only young men and bachelors had the right to wear the Tschäggättä costumes, nowadays however young boys and married men are also allowed to wear them. Customs have also changed in so far as the Tschäggättä are almost only to be seen on Saturday afternoons during the period from «Feisten Frontag» until Ash Wednesday. This is because the young men don’t have the same freedom today, the majority having professional obligations. Furthermore the Tschäggättä are forbidden to appear on Sundays.

In general the Tschäggättä do not parade in a procession nor do they form organised groups. Each individual does as he pleases in so far as he respects the allotted times. They can be seen alone or in groups, most frequently with cow bells that they ring noisily or else they spring unexpectedly from unlikely places. They are supposed to demand respect from young children and girls – nowadays from tourists as well – and also to cause a certain amount of fear. They wear old clothes with fur on the outside. Two sheep or goat skins are worn, one on the back the other on the chest. These are secured by a leather belt from which a cowbell is hung. Their feet are often covered by sacks which also form leggings, thus reinforcing their wild appearance but also so that their shoes and the prints they leave in the snow cannot be recognised. The Tschäggättä also wear gloves which used to be made from the thread left behind in carding combs. These are sometimes dipped in soot to «blacken» their victims. An enormous mask, sculptured in Arolla pine, sheep’s or goats’ wool, and a stick complete the costume. Today some Tschäggättä wear costumes that are not as traditional as custom dictates.

Where does the name «Roitschäggätta» come from?

Today the locals use the abbreviation Tschäggätta (plural Tschäggättä) more often. The word «Roitschäggätta» has much older origins. They are called Tschäggättä because of their clothes made from black and white sheepskin and «Roitschäggättä» on account of an old childhood belief that they came down the chimney (Roich = smoke). Rauch).

The first documents to mention the ancestral Tchäggättä custom can be found in the archives of the parish of Kippel. They date from the time of Prieur Gibsten, (from 1864 to 1876). He countered these customs which he considered undignified for Christians by taxing troublemakers fifty centimes. However researchers are convinced that these customs are much more ancient.

Significance of the masks

We will probably never have a single justifiable answer to the question of the origin of the Tschäggättä. Here are the three main versions:

1. In 1550 there was a popular uprising in Valais, the so-called «Trinkelstierkrieg». At the time the rebels disguised themselves like the present-day Tschäggättä so that they would not be recognised. 

2. The Tschäggättä – like many other spring customs – were created to chase away winter and evil spirits.

3. A gang of thieves could also be responsible for this tradition. They apparently operated from the dawn of time or, according to another version, in the C15th in a clearing on the southern side of the valley. Camouflaged behind their masks, like highwaymen, they attacked the villages. 

Members were only admitted to the gang after having proved they were capable of striding across the Lonza carrying a heavy burden at a narrow passage situated to the West of Blatten.

Manna from Ferden

The story goes that following the death of a cowherd who had become rich through illegal means a ghost came to haunt the alpine pastures of Faldum, Resti and Kummen. This evil spirit chased the cattle from their stalls and let them escape into the mountains and valleys. The cows came back three days later. Their hooves were full of seeds and blood flowed from their udders. The people responsible for the alpine pastures therefore decided to offer the result of two days milking to the poor people in the valley every year. This was how the curse came to be lifted. 

The first document telling this story is dated 1872. It is a translation of a Latin version which has been lost. The names mentioned give rise to the belief that the original document could date back to the year 1380. More than 200 years later it was stipulated in a letter dated 1596 that the name «Spendmatte» had been given to a meadow where the symbolic distribution took place. In 1914 statutes and rules were laid down concerning the way the offering should be divided and they are still in practice today. 

Preparation of the manna

On 22nd July the cows are placed in predefined, well-marked out pastures. The milk collected in the evening of 22nd July, all day on the 23rd and on the morning of the 24th is processed into a full fat cheese. Already on the 24th July this cheese is stored in the communal cellar in Ferden where the people who have been honoured with this responsibility receive it with their assistants. The curds are pressed and poured into containers made from pine bark. In the 

following months those responsible devote their attention to the processing – on a daily basis to begin with – notably by piercing holes in the pine bark in order to allow the whey to escape. The cheese is left to mature until Easter Monday. At dawn on that day the cheese is cut into small cubes which are deducted and ready for distribution. 

Easter Monday distribution

Immediately after Mass the bell chimes to announce the distribution. All the children, from the cradle to the final school year, receive a large portion of cheese and an eighth of a loaf of rye bread. Following the distribution the burghers are invited to a primary assembly. 

The president begins the ceremony with a prayer and reads the statutes of the donation, following which they go on to the nomination of the organs of donation. No other affairs are dealt with during this assembly. Once the cheese and bread have been eaten the president closes the ceremony with a prayer because it is already afternoon and guests from outside are waiting. To announce that the moment has arrived, the master of ceremonies opens the door of the village hall.

Women, men and children take their places and receive the cheese and white bread wrapped in a white cloth. They are also served wine in a prescribed quantity. Once all the outside guests have been served there is a vast general distribution which includes the local women and children. 

During this time, in a separate room, there is another distribution in favour of the donors and suppliers of milk for the fabrication of the cheese who are not burghers of Ferden as well as single-parent families. Once the «grand distribution» has been completed at the end of the afternoon, the village hall is put at the disposal of the burghers so that they can enjoy a good wine in convivial company. According to tradition the burghers take their places at table and at 10pm the master of ceremonies closes the doors of the hall.

L’histoire de Fafleralp

Les fameux masques du Lötschental, appelés les Tschäggättä (au singulier Tschäggätta), font leur apparition entre le 2 février (fête catholique de la Chandeleur)  et le mercredi des Cendres. Pour autant que l’on s’en tienne à la tradition, ils ne doivent pas  être vus avant la mi-journée (12h.00) et jusqu’à la tombée du jour (19h.00). 

Alors que, jusqu’à la 2e guerre mondiale, seuls des jeunes gens et des célibataires avaient le droit de revêtir les costumes de Tschäggättä, aujourd’hui sont tolérés aussi des jeunes garçons et des hommes mariés. La coutume a aussi changé dans la mesure où les Tschäggättä se montrent presque exclusivement le samedi après-midi, la période du «Feisten Frontag» jusqu’au mercredi des Cendres. C’est parce qu’aujourd’hui les jeunes hommes ne disposent plus de la même liberté, la plupart d’entre eux ayant des engagements professionnels. Par ailleurs, il est interdit aux Tschäggättä de «sévir» le dimanche.

En général, les Tschäggättä ne défilent pas en cortège et ne forment pas non plus de groupes organisés. Chacun fait ce qui lui plaît pour autant qu’il se conforme aux temps qui sont impartis. On les voit en solitaires ou en groupes, le plus souvent avec des clochettes de vaches qu’ils agitent bruyamment ou alors surgissent là où on ne les attend pas. Ils sont sensés imposer le respect aux écoliers et aux filles – aujourd’hui aussi aux touristes – et inspirer aussi une certaine crainte. Les Tschäggättä portent de vieux vêtements dont la fourure est mise à  l’extérieur. Deux peaux de moutons ou de chèvre sont posées tantôt sur le dos tantôt sur la poitrine et retenues par une ceinture de cuir à laquelle est suspendue une clochette de vache. Très souvent les pieds sont recouverts de sacs qui gainent la jambe de façon à renforcer encore l’aspect sauvage mais aussi pour qu’on ne puisse pas reconnaître les chaussures et les traces qu’elles laissent dans la neige. Les Tschäggättä portent aussi des gants autrefois confectionnés à base de fils restés dans les peignes de tissage. Ceux-ci sont parfois trempés dans la suie pour pouvoir noircir les „victimes“. Un masque énorme, surdimensionné, sculpté dans du bois d’arolle,  de laine de mouton ou de chèvre, et un bâton viennent compléter le costume. Aujourd’hui, certains Tschäggättä portent aussi des vêtements qui ne sont pas aussi traditionnels que le veut la tradition.

D’où vient le nom «Roitschäggätta»

Aujourd’hui, les indigènes utilisent plutôt l’abréviation Tschäggätta (pluriel Tschäggättä). Le mot «Roitschäggätta» aurait des origines plus anciennes. On les appelle Tschäggättä à cause de leurs vêtements confectionnés avec des peaux de mouton noirs et blancs et «Roitschäggättä» par rapport à une vieille croyance enfantine qui laissait supposer qu’ils descendaient par la cheminée (Roich = fumée). Rauch).

Les premiers manuscrits parlant de la coutume ancestrale des Tchäggättä se trouvent dans les archives de la paroisse de Kippel. Elles datent de l’époque du Prieur Gibsten, (de 1864 à 1876). Il a contré ces coutumes, qu’il estimait indignes des chrétiens, en imposant aux fauteurs une amende de cinquante centimes. Des chercheurs sont toutefois d’avis que ces coutumes doivent être bien antérieures.

Signification des masques

On ne pourra probablement jamais avoir une réponse unique et justifiée à la question de l’origine des Tschäggättä. On en dénombre les trois principales variantes suivantes:
1. En 1550, une rébellion populaire a eu lieu en Valais, ladite «Trinkelstierkrieg». Les insurgés de l’époque se seraient déguisés comme les actuels Tschäggättä de façon à ne pas être reconnus.
2. Les Tschäggättä ont – comme beaucoup de coutumes de printemps – pour but de chasser l’hiver et les mauvais esprits.

3. Une bande de voleurs pourraient aussi être à l’origine de cette tradition. Ceux-ci auraient sévi à la nuit des temps et, selon une autre variante, au 15e siècle dans une clairière du côté sud de la vallée. Camouflés sous des masques, comme des bandits de grand chemin, ils attaquaient les villages.  

N’était admis dans cette bande que celui qui, chargé d’un lourd fardeau, était capable d’enjamber la Lonza à un passage étroit situé à l’ouest de Blatten.

La manne de Ferden

L’histoire raconte qu’après la mort d’un vacher qui s’était enrichi illégalement, un revenant vint hanter les alpages de Faldum, Resti et Kummen. Ce mauvais esprit chassa le bétail hors des écuries et le laissa échapper dans les montagnes et les vallées. Les vaches revinrent trois jours après. Leurs sabots étaient remplis de grains et du sang coulait de leurs pis. Les  responsables des alpages décidèrent alors d’offrir chaque année le revenu de deux jours de traite aux pauvres de la vallée. C’est ainsi qu’a pris fin la malédiction.

Le premier document qui relate cette légende date de 1872. Il s’agit d’une traduction d’une version latine qui s’est perdue. Les noms qui y figurent laissent penser que le document original pourrait dater de l’an 1380. Plus de deux cents ans plus tard, il a été stipulé, dans une lettre datant de 1596, qu’on aurait donné pour nom  «Spendmatte»  à un pré où aurait  eu lieu la distribution symbolique. En 1914 des statuts et des règlement ont été élaborés sur le mode de répartition, qui sont encore en vigueur aujourd’hui.

Préparations de la manne

A partir du  22 juillet, les vaches sont réparties dans des pâturages prédéfinis et bien délimités. Le lait récolté le 22 juillet au soir, dans la journée du 23 et le matin du 24 juillet, est traité pour devenir du fromage gras.  Le 24 juillet déjà, ce fromage est entreposé dans la cave communale de Ferden où des responsables qui ont l’honneur d’être nommés à cette fin, le réceptionnent avec leurs aides. Le sérac est alors pressé et versé dans des bacs faits d’écorce de sapin.

Les mois qui suivent, ces mêmes responsables  consacrent une surveillance attentive – quotidienne  dans les premiers temps - notamment en faisant des trous dans les écorces de sapin  de façon à laisser échapper la matière liquide. Le sérac aura jusqu’au lundi de Pâques pour arriver à maturation. A l’aube de ce jour-là, il sera coupé en petits cubes qui seront décomptés et prêts au partage.

La distribution du lundi de Pâques

Sitôt après la messe, le cloche sonne et invite à la distribution. Tous les enfants, du berceau à la terminale scolaire, reçoivent une grosse portion de sérac et un huitième de pain de seigle. Après cette petite distribution, les bourgeois sont invités à une assemblée primaire.

Le Président commence la cérémonie par une prière et donne lecture des statuts de la donation, à la suite de quoi on procède à la nomination des organes de donation. Pas d’autres affaires traitées lors de cette assemblée. Une fois le sérac et le pain mangés, le Président clôt la cérémonie par une prière car il est déjà l’après-midi et que les invités de l’extérieur attendent. Pour signifier que le moment est venu, le maître de cérémonie ouvre la porte de la salle communale.

Femmes, hommes et enfants prennent place et reçoivent le sérac et le pain blanc emballés dans un linge blanc. Il leur est également servi du vin dont la dose est prescrite. Une fois tous les invités de l’extérieur servis, on procède à une grande distribution générale qui inclut alors les femmes et les enfants indigènes.

Pendant ce temps-là, dans une pièce séparée, on procède à l’autre distribution destinée aux donateurs et aux fournisseurs de lait pour la fabrication du sérac, qui ne sont pas bourgeois de Ferden ainsi qu’à des familles monoparentales. Une fois la «grande distribution» terminée, en fin d’après-midi, la salle bourgeoisiale est libérée pour que les bourgeois et les bourgeoises puissent savourer un bon vin en toute convivialité. La coutume veut qu’on se mette à table et qu’à 22 heures le maître de cérémonie ferme les portes de la Bourgeoisie.